
 
 
 
Discussion: 
The recently signed Act 73 of 2007 amends the Child Protective Services Law (CPSL) and 
brings Pennsylvania into compliance with the federal Adam Walsh Child Protection and 
Safety Act of 2006. The new law requires that effective January 1, 2008, all prospective 
foster, kinship and adoptive parent applicants and household members 18 years of age or 
older complete a fingerprint-based federal criminal record check through the FBI. In 
addition, these individuals are also required to submit child abuse history record checks from 
other states in which they resided within the previous five year period.  
 
Effective July 1, 2008, prospective child care service employees and self-employed family 
day care providers in Pennsylvania will also have to comply with the requirement for FBI 
clearances. 

POLICY 
 
Beginning January 1, 2008, all prospective foster, kinship and adoptive parent applicants, as 
well as any individual over the age of 18 residing in the home at least 30 calendar days a 
year, must submit a fingerprint based federal criminal record check through the FBI. These 
individuals are also required to resubmit their FBI record check every 24 months. At the 
point of recertification, clearances are to be obtained for foster children who turn 18 and 
reside in the home at least 30 days of the calendar year.  
 
Effective July 1, 2008, DHS will not approve PLC family profiles without FBI clearances for 
the prospective PLC applicants and their family members over age 18.  
 
DPW will receive the completed federal criminal history record checks from the FBI and will 
interpret the results to determine if an individual has been convicted of a crime equivalent to 
Pennsylvania’s list of prohibitive offenses. 
 
If a prospective foster, kinship or adoptive parent or any household member 18 years of age 
or older resided outside of Pennsylvania at any time within the previous five year                                           
period, they must request certification from the Statewide Central Registry or its equivalent 
in each state in which they resided as to whether they are named as a perpetrator of child 
abuse. A child abuse record check from another state is also required within 30 days when 
any individual over 18 years of age who resided outside of Pennsylvania within the past five 
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years begins residing in the home of an approved foster/kinship family. Information is not 
required from any foreign country in which an individual may have resided in the preceding 
five years. 
 
If it is determined that any individual is named as the perpetrator of child abuse within the 
previous five year period, and the findings meet the equivalent of a founded report in 
Pennsylvania, he or she must  either immediately move out of the home or the foster 
child(ren) must be immediately removed from the home without a hearing. 
 
    Summary of Clearance Requirements 
FBI Clearances: 
· required for all prospective foster, kinship, PLC and adoptive parent applicants and 

household members 18 and older who reside in the home at least 30 calendar days a year, at 
the time of application and every 24 months thereafter. 

· required for foster children who remain in the home at least 30 days of the calendar year, 
beginning at age 18. 

 
Out of State Child Abuse Record Check: 
· required if a prospective foster, kinship or adoptive parent or any household member 18 

years of age or older resided outside of Pennsylvania at any time within the previous five 
year period. 

· required within 30 days when any individual over 18 years of age who resided outside of 
Pennsylvania within the past five years begins residing in the home of an approved 
foster/kinship family. 

 
Childline and Pennsylvania Criminal History Clearances:  
· required for all prospective foster, kinship and adoptive parents and household members 

14 years of age and older at the time of application and every 24 months thereafter.  
· required for foster children age 18 and older when the foster/kinship home is being  

recertified.   
 

Procedure: 
When evaluating a potential kinship care home: 
CYD social workers will advise prospective caregivers and household members 18 and 
older of the requirement to obtain FBI clearances and child abuse registry clearances 
from any other state they resided in the previous five years. This is in addition to the 
Childline and criminal history record information (CHRI) clearances for all household 
members 14 and older.   
 
FBI Clearances: 
For kinship homes being evaluated by A Second Chance, Inc (ACSI) 
-the ASCI social worker will inform the family members of the procedure to obtain FBI 
clearances through Cogent Systems. ASCI will begin the FBI clearance process for all 
household members who require it by: 

· completing the fingerprint applicant information “form” 
· registering the applicant with Cogent and obtaining an ID 
· providing a list of sites where fingerprinting can be done 
· providing a list of the types of acceptable identification. 

ASCI will pass on to the new provider copies of all information provided to the 
caregivers and completed for them. 
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If the CYD social worker is completing the kinship home evaluation 
- he or she will inform family members of the procedure to obtain FBI clearances 
through Cogent Systems and will help facilitate their application if needed.  
- The $40 application fee for each kinship family member 18 and older will be paid for by 
DHS through contract with Cogent Systems. 
-the CYD worker will forward any out of state child abuse registry clearance requests to 
the Liaison unit for processing. 
 
(Information to complete kinship home evaluations can be found in CYD Policy Manual 
Section 5204- Kinship Caregiver Placements (updated June 2003), and Policy and 
Procedure Guide, “Amendments to the Child Protective Services Law (including Act 
160)” issued May 15, 2007).  
 
Private Providers 
-providers can enter an agency agreement with Cogent Systems for payment of FBI 
clearances or can require that applicants pay the fee themselves. 
-providers are responsible for obtaining all out of state child abuse record checks and 
processing the clearances through Childline. These must be submitted, if applicable, to 
the DHS Licensure Unit when the homes are certified or recertified.  
(Note: the cost of FBI clearances for pre-adoptive homes may be submitted as a request 
for reimbursement of non-recurring costs) 
 
FBI Clearance Processing: 
Childline will forward a letter with the results to DHS when DHS has paid for the 
clearance and completed the agency information section on the initial application. A 
copy of the results will also be sent to the applicant upon request.  
If an applicant pays for the clearance, Childline forwards the results directly to him/her. 
The applicant is then responsible for providing the results letter to the foster 
care/adoption agency.  
 
Child Abuse and Neglect Registry Checks from Another State: 
Any household member 18 or older who resided in any other state in the previous five 
year period, must request certification from the other states’ central Child Abuse and 
Neglect registries. A copy of the states’ contact information and forms are available in 
the Liaison Unit. The necessary information must be provided to the family by the CYD 
social worker or the ASCI social worker.  
 
If the CYD social worker is completing the kinship evaluation, the out of state clearance 
request and any additional documentation required by the specific state(s) must be 
submitted to the Liaison  unit  who will forward to Childline. (note: Payment is required 
for clearances from California and Colorado.) 
 
To establish consistent interpretation of the results, Childline will receive the out-of-state 
registry information and will determine whether the individual’s status is equivalent to a 
founded report of child abuse in Pennsylvania. Childline will then forward a letter 
specifying the results to the requesting agency. If an individual is named as perpetrator 
of a founded report of child abuse within the previous five year period, the foster/kinship 
or adoptive home can not be approved. 

If there are any questions about the results, Law Department should be consulted.   
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Procedure for Cogent Systems 
Registration:  
The applicant must first register with Cogent either through the DPW website at 
www.pa.cogentid.com/dpw  or by calling 1-888-439-2486.  Applicants will not be permitted 
to have their fingerprints scanned without fully completing the registration process.  
 
Fingerprinting:  
The CYD social worker can obtain a current list of Cogent fingerprinting sites from the 
Liaison Unit. 
 
Identification:  
Applicants will need to present approved photo identification.  
 
Fingerprint Rejection: 
In the event the fingerprints are rejected by the FBI due to poor detail, applicants are 
requested by the FBI via a rejection letter to submit a second set, at no charge to the 
applicant.  
 
Applicants must take their rejection letter and proper identification to the nearest 
Pennsylvania Fingerprint location. Individuals do not need to re-register for their second 
fingerprinting session. 
 
If the fingerprints are rejected a second time by the FBI, notification is forwarded to 
Childline by the FBI. Childline will then conduct a name based check based on the 
demographic information on the initial application. Results of the FBI name based record 
check are also forwarded by the FBI to Childline for interpretation. The result record will be 
printed on paper with the Commonwealth Seal imbedded on the paper. This document 
constitutes an official Record.  
 
If the applicant does not receive the Criminal History Record from DPW within three weeks 
after being fingerprinted, they should call (717) 783-6211. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Questions regarding this Policy and Procedure Guide may be addressed to: 
 Patricia Ripoll, Policy and Planning Administrator  3-4112 
 Susan Weinberg, Program Supervisor   3-4116 
 
 
 
 

http://www.pa.cogentid.com/dpw

